17 West African countries enter international trademark system

The Madrid system, which now covers more than 100 countries, is a cost-effective way of protecting brands and trademarks in the international arena. By filing a single application it is possible to register a trademark in any number of the more than 100 signatory states as well as in the European Union through the Community Trademark system. The system also simplifies the subsequent management of marks, since it is possible to record further changes or to renew the registrations through a single procedural step.

The system enters into force for OAPI on 5 March 2015.

Footnote: OAPI comprises:

  • Benin
  • Burkina Faso
  • Cameroon
  • Central African Republic
  • Chad
  • Comoros
  • Republic of Congo
  • Côte d’Ivoire
  • Gabon
  • Guinea
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Mali
  • Mauritania
  • Niger
  • Guinea Bissau
  • Senegal
  • Togo